Y Combinator is a VC-slash-Incubator organization that seems to be producing some interesting companies (with a definite leaning toward Flash based technologies). They recently held a demo day to showcase some of their apps. The following ones caught my attention for the reasons described.

anywhere.fm

I have been using anywhere.fm for a couple of weeks now and really like it. Although I have a bit of an aversion to Flash apps hosted in web browsers this actually seems like a great implementation. That said, it wouldn’t be that hard to pull off as an Ajax app. My company’s next product code-named m*******t will do some similar things and with a much better interface 🙂 For now, you can create an account at http://www.anywhere.fm, upload your music collection, the stream it from any other Flash enabled browser. From a SoNet perspective you can stream, but not download, your friends music collection too.

versionate

Another product out of the Y Combinator world is Versionate. While it is yet-another-wiki-as-a-hosted-service it is dead easy to setup and use. I think one of its biggest attractions to me is that is has so few features. If you need a feature-rich and robust wiki solution then look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for something easy to setup that loads quickly and allows you to capture a thought mid-stream then this is well worth the consideration. We have a very informal (aka non-existent) documentation process where I work. I am finding versionate invaluable in capturing, storing and organizing critical information.

fauxto

I just came across fauxto this evening so I have not had any opportunity to use it yet. According to the claims it offers a lot of the functionality of Adobe’s Photoshop in a web delivered Flash app. Since my forte is in server-side development I can not justify the license for Photoshop. However I do find myself having to do basic image manipulation from time-to–time and it is almost always for low/non paying charity gigs where I can not leverage the kick-ass front-end skills of some of my designer friends. I’m looking forward to trying out fauxto in the coming days.

If you are interested in learning more about Y Combinator then check out the link. If you think you have a great idea that is worthy of their financing then take a look at www.ycombinator.com/w2008.html where they talk about their application process and deadline for next round of financing and assistance.

Y Combinator Demo Day: The Summer Startups

